Skip to main content

Insert an unsubscribe link

Add an unsubscribe link to your email and track recipients who unsubscribe. YAMM records this in the tracking report, and unsubscribed addresses are automatically excluded from future mail merges.

YAMM is not an Email Service Provider. It is an add-on that sends emails via your Google account. So it is your responsibility to add an unsubscribe link to your emails when needed. As a reminder, this is mandatory for newsletters. If your recipients are not able to unsubscribe from your list, your email might be flagged as spam. Learn more.

warning

Third-party email tracking tools may interfere with YAMM's unsubscribe tracking. Disable them before inserting the unsubscribe link into your Gmail draft.

Both steps below are required. The unsubscribe link only works if tracking is also enabled when you send.

  1. Open your template in Gmail or Google Docs.

  2. Copy the following unsubscribe link at the end of your template.

    https://app.yamm.com/unsubscribe
    Gmail draft with an unsubscribe link pointing to the YAMM unsubscribe URL
    warning

    The unsubscribe link is unique to each campaign. Don't copy it from a previous email.

2. Activate tracking

Before sending your mail merge, make sure to activate tracking to enable the unsubscribe links.

  1. Open your contact list spreadsheet in Google Sheets.

  2. Select Extensions > Yet Another Mail Merge: Mail Merge for Gmail > Start Mail Merge.

    Start Mail Merge in the Extensions > Yet Another Mail Merge menu
  3. Select the template containing the unsubscribe link.

  4. Select Track emails opened, clicked or bounced.

    Start Mail Merge window with the Track emails opened, clicked or bounced option checked
  5. Click Send emails.

If the unsubscribe link is inserted and tracking is enabled, the unsubscribe feature appears as Enabled in the advanced features panel. If tracking isn't enabled, YAMM displays a warning.

Options panel of the Start Mail Merge window showing the unsubscribe link as Enabled
Options panel of the Start Mail Merge window showing the unsubscribe link with a Tracking disabled warning

What's next