Skip to main content

Schedule a mail merge

Run your mail merge later, on a chosen date and time. You can only schedule one mail merge at a time, but you can always cancel a scheduled mail merge from the YAMM dashboard.

Schedule mail merges for later delivery

Prerequisites
  1. In Google Sheets, open your contact list spreadsheet.

  2. Select Extensions > Yet Another Mail Merge: Mail Merge for Gmail > Start Mail Merge.

    Start Mail Merge from the Extensions menu
  3. In the Start Mail Merge window:

    1. Check that YAMM correctly detected the recipient column.

    2. (Optional) Enter a Sender Name.

    3. Select your Gmail draft from the Email Template dropdown. Click Refresh if your draft does not appear.

    4. Select the tracking option to measure the performance of your campaign. If your template contains an unsubscribe link, tracking must be enabled for it to work.

    All the mail merge options in the Start Mail Merge window
  4. Click Schedule.

    Start Mail Merge window with the Schedule button
  5. Select a date and time. You can schedule up to 2 weeks in advance. The delivery time is approximate: YAMM checks your Google spreadsheet every 30 minutes, so emails may be sent up to 30 minutes after the specified time.

    Delivery date and time fields in the Start Mail Merge window, with a Leave some quota field and a Schedule merge button
  6. (Optional) Leave some Gmail account quota for other emails after the scheduled mail merge. For example, if you have 20 recipients remaining in your Gmail quota and want to keep 10 after the merge, enter 10 in the Leave some quota field.

  7. Click Schedule merge.

The mail merge is scheduled. In your contact list spreadsheet, the SCHEDULED status appears under the Merge status column. When the mail merge is sent, the status changes to EMAIL_SENT.

A modal indicates success and the spreadsheet is updated with a Merge status column

You can check its status or cancel it from the YAMM dashboard.

The scheduled mail merge is visible in your YAMM dashboard under Mail merge, Scheduled
info

You can schedule only one mail merge at a time. If you try to schedule another, a warning appears — clicking Schedule merge again cancels the previously scheduled merge.

Cancel a scheduled mail merge

Cancel a scheduled mail merge from the YAMM dashboard.

info

Deleting the SCHEDULED status (or the Merge status column) in your contact list spreadsheet doesn't fully cancel the scheduled merge.

  1. Sign in to your YAMM dashboard.

  2. In the sidebar, click Mail merges.

    Mail merges selected in the YAMM dashboard sidebar
  3. In the Scheduled tab, click the sheet name for the scheduled mail merge.

    Scheduled tab of the YAMM dashboard listing one scheduled mail merge by sheet name, date, time, and number of emails
  4. Click Cancel mail merge.

    Scheduled mail merge details panel with the Cancel mail merge option
  5. (Optional) In the contact list spreadsheet, right-click the Merge status column and choose Delete column to remove the outdated status.

    Right-click menu on the Merge status column with Delete column selected, next to rows showing the SCHEDULED status

The scheduled mail merge is canceled.

What's next